shouldweeatthat


Leftovers?
November 26, 2011, 7:59 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Turkey day has come and gone.  I hope your family was not too obnoxious! My in-laws (and their pet squirrel!) decided NOT to grace us with their presence. It felt like Christmas came early at my house!  They decided they would rather have their Thanksgiving at Golden Corral and spend the night at the beach so they could go to a slightly less busy Walmart at midnight.  More power to ’em because at midnight I was cozy in my own bed! Just so you can understand just how crazy these people are, I feel the need to share a story.

Picture it, April 2004.  I’m getting married!  First hitch of the day, my DJ forgets the CD with all my music and my bridesmaids have to go search guests cars to find my very non-traditional wedding music.  After that things went well until the stupid DJ guy says “hey, most of the guests are leaving, can I go, too?” For some reason my crazy mother in law still paid the stupid DJ his entire price.  Not sure why, but hey, it’s her money.  Time to cut the cake, and I tell my mom that it’s fine to cut the top layer, even though it is traditionally saved and frozen for the 1 yr anniversary.  This is because our baker makes you another (fresh!)  one for the anniversary. Awesome. Well, it turns out it’s not necessary to use it, so my mom gives it to my MIL, thinking that she will take it home and freeze it for us since she lives closer (and does not cook, so obviously has room in her freezer.)

Fast forward a week and we’re back from our honeymoon.  I ask my MIL for the cake, so we can transfer it to our freezer. She tells me it’s gone.  I’m very confused at this point and ask her if my mom sent it home with her.  She says “yes, she did, but I took it to Bojangles for the workers to eat. I invited them all to your wedding but they couldn’t come.”  My wedding cake.  Seriously. I don’t even KNOW these people.  She does because they eat there every. single. day.

So if the fact that they have a pet squirrel living in their house did not prove the craziness, perhaps this has helped to illustrate my point. I’m sure as this blog progresses, I’ll have many, many more stories of insanity.

So, since there were less people at dinner, we had more leftovers.  Since my gastric bypass, leftovers and I do not always get along.  Especially dry leftovers like turkey or chicken seem to be. I had to come up with SOMETHING to do with all this food, though, so I altered a recipe for Broccoli and Quinoa casserole. Enjoy!

 

Turkey, Broccoli, and Quinoa Bake

2 cups leftover chicken or turkey, shredded

2 cups frozen broccoli, defrosted (or you can use leftover cooked broccoli) cut into small pieces

1 1/2 cups dry quinoa, cooked according to package instructions

1 cups shredded sharp cheddar (can use low fat,) plus an additional 1/2 cup for the topping

1/4 cup grated parmesan cheese

1/4 cup shredded italian blend cheese (There was mozerella, parmesan, and asiago in the bag I used.  If you don’t have this you can use additional cheddar if you’d like)

salt and pepper to taste

dehydrated onion flakes, garlic salt (also can use fresh of both, this is just what I had on hand)

Mix everything together and place in baking dish.  Sprinkle top with additional cheese and bake at 375 for about 15 minutes, until cheese on top is melted.

This was moist enough that I had no problem eating it.  However, I asked my poor cooking-challenged husband to salt the quinoa and he salted it like he’d salt pasta water.  It tasted great-but was way too salty.  Don’t let your husband use the salt and it’ll be yummy!

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Love your blog Jess. Your in-laws give you enough material you could write an entire book!!

Comment by Beth

OMG I think we have some of the same crazy people in my husbands family! SCARY to say the least. We were married by the justice of the peace, and his brother and wife CALLED us the next day to SCREAM on the phone at us because we didn’t invite them. Ummmm….a congrats would have been nice! CRAZY. All caps. yes. lol

Comment by Lana in MI




Leave a Reply

