shouldweeatthat


Turkey Time!
November 18, 2011, 4:52 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Yup.  No matter how much we want to avoid it, short of moving to another country, you can’t.  Thanksgiving is almost here.  In my house that means dealing with family members I don’t particularly like and answering their questions about my gastric bypass.  Don’t get me wrong, most of the time I don’t mind answering people’s questions, but it’s different when it’s your family. I despise smiling and pretending that I give a crap about their latest diet and how nice it must be that I had surgery because they are struggling SO much with their weight. No matter what they think it was not the “easy” way to do things.  Then there is the “oh…should you be eating that?”  question.  That one is really fun, too.  This year I also get to have dinner with my inlaws.  My mother in law had gastric bypass surgery about a year before I did and has done very well with her weight loss, but she is the LAST person to ask me if I should be eating something.  Since my husband was a kid they have eaten fast food, 3 meals a day, EVERY day.  Not so much as a sandwich at home.  Their stove was never even plugged in.  You would think after her bypass she would have made an effort to change things.  Nope.  Still fast food all day every day.  Her idea of a protein rich meal is a baked potato at Wendy’s with a sprinkle of cheese. She once told me that the best part of this surgery was that the doctor told her she “never had to eat another salad as long as she lived.”  Isn’t that lovely?  Needless to say, we did NOT have the same surgeon.  I married into this!  No wonder no matter what I cook, the biggest compliment it gets is “pretty good.”  His poor tastebuds have been burned off by an abundance of salt!

So, pre-op, at 315lbs, I managed to deal with my family with food.  It’s hard to talk to the crazy people when there is food in your mouth.  Now, it’s a little harder.  The thing is, I’m big on moderation.  If I deprive myself, I’m just going to make up for it later. So I eat turkey, gravy, stuffing, and a bite of anything else that sounds yummy!  It’s one day a year and as long as I don’t make it every day, I have no problem with eating things that I usually avoid. My biggest issue is dessert.  Mmmmm…who doesn’t love all the sweets on Thanksgiving??  The best way I’ve found to deal with that is to make sure there is something I can indulge in and other people actually like as well.  The best part is when they ask if I “should be eating that” and I say “yup” and take a big ‘ol bite.  Pumpkin pie has always been a favorite, so I was determined to find a recipe I could make work for me. Besides, pumpkin can be hard to find around here except around the holidays, and last year when I asked my husband to get me a “couple” cans, he came home with 15.  No joke.  15.  He knew I’d have trouble finding it later and was trying to be sweet, but where in the hell do you store all that pumpkin?!  It is currently piled up on the floor of my pantry as I SLOWLY work my way trough it.  Needless to say, I won’t be sending him out for pumpkin again this year.  But to use of some of my supply, this is an awesome recipe that I’ve altered to be WLS friendly.  It’s also another crockpot recipe, which is so nice, because you don’t have to think about it while you’re worrying with the rest of the goodies.

Enjoy!!

 

Crock Pot Pumpkin Pudding

1 15oz can pumpkin (NOT pie filling!)

1 12oz can evaporate milk

3/4 cup Whey Low (my preferred sugar substitute.  You could also try Splenda)

1/2 cup Carbquick (this is a low carb Bisquick replacement.  If you don’t mind a few more carbs, Bisquick works great.)

2 eggs

2 tablespoons melted butter

2-3 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice

2 teaspoons vanilla

Mix all ingredients together and place in greased crock pot. Cook on low for approx 6 hours.  Serve with sugar free whipped cream if you’d like.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

This recipe sounds go good Jessica. I will definitely try it out when I make our Thanksgiving for Denis & I. Maybe in a week or two.

Comment by Barbara Marlow

So good, Jess. And thanks for the punkin recipe – I’m gonna try that. Wishing you a good strong case of being in oblivion while you’re at your in-laws. Squirrel dumplings, anyone??

Comment by Beth




Leave a Reply

